MEDIA WORKERS AND TV RESEARCHERS - Please seek permission before posting on this site or approaching individuals found here by phone or email - write to the Editor - mail to nick@off-grid.net

Home Forums General Discussion Off the grid in Canada. Questions

This topic contains 7 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  elnav 4 years, 10 months ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

erFiodena
    Participant

Hi everyone,

I am planning to go off the grid here in Canada in 1-2 years. Is it possible to buy land at cheap prices in Canada? Are there any special rules/regulation that makes harder to live off the grid in Canada? I’ve read Alexander Lamar blog and saw a few of his videos but it seems that land in Canada is far more expensive than US.

I am handy and I can build lots of things myself (except welding, a skill that I may learn someday).

I have been travelling and living in my van for 6 months in Australia and volunteered for a week for a guy that was living off the grid. I enjoyed a lot those experiences and I can’t wait to go off the grid myself.

Is there a “search” field in this forum?It would be useful to search between topics for information.

Thanks in advance for your replies!

WrethaOffGrid
    Keymaster

Hello,

I don’t know the ins and outs of living in Canada, off grid or otherwise, I know there are some Canadian off gridders here, hopefully one of them can give you some advice on that.

I can help with the forum search, there isn’t an official way to search the forums, but there is a workaround for it, a way to use Google to search only the forums here, for now this is the best method, just copy and paste the following search phrase into Google or most any other search engine, be sure to copy and paste the entire phrase:

site:www.www.off-grid.net/forum/

once you have that, then put in a space and type in whatever you are searching for, for example, if I wanted to find windmill, I would use this phrase: