MEDIA WORKERS AND TV RESEARCHERS - Please seek permission before posting on this site or approaching individuals found here by phone or email - write to the Editor - mail to nick@off-grid.net

Home Forums General Discussion New to this, where to start

This topic contains 8 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  erFiodena 4 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

ama3t
    Participant

I’m about as enthusiastic about learning of OTG living as its possible to be! I’m very excited to begin the research phase, however I’m overwhelmed and not sure were to start.

Some background info. I’m currently a nursing student. My goal is to become a Certified Nurse Midwife. I currently live in a small apartment in a medium sized city in TN with my husband and 1 year old.

I have plenty of time to research. Its unlikely we would be financial able to pursue this dream for about 2 years. So i want to spend that time doing the research and learning what all is necessary.

So, where do I begin What are some good resources for people who know NOTHING but are very willing to learn?

Dustoffer
    Participant

I started with two books from the library, “The Solar Living Source Book” and “Earthship”. Then I bought “The Independent Home”. That was in 1993-4. I had my solar home by 1998, addition the next year and Earthship by spring of 2001. Mortgage paid off late 2006.

More recent ones may be at your own library, and Amazon.com has them used and new.

caverdude
    Participant

http://blog.larrydgray.net

I recommend many books usually at the bottom of my articles. Let me know what you think about the articles.

elnav

Along with reading the books you can begin with reducing your energy consumption.