MEDIA WORKERS AND TV RESEARCHERS - Please seek permission before posting on this site or approaching individuals found here by phone or email - write to the Editor - mail to nick@off-grid.net

Home Forums General Discussion looking for people to move off grid with

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  desert deb 5 years, 7 months ago.

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

knomadiq
    Participant

Hello, my name is Roy I’m 35 year old male. I have limited experience in carpentry and laying carpet. I live in Louisville KY and for the past few years I have worked on supply boats learning the ins and outs of boat life. I am an AB limited, which means I clean, chip and paint boats, general boat maintenance. I also hold a 100ton captain 200 ton mate near coastal license. All my certs are US Coast guard approved. With Dec 21, 2012 around the corner, I want to start making preparations to go off grid. I don’t know what will happen, so I want to be prepared just in case. My dream is to live off grid where I can wright my books, design my video games, grow and raise my own food. I want to learn. Also I want to be able to travel and always have some place called home but without the bills. I like to live in a nice tropical area, where I can grow food plentifully; Fishing is good and plenty of exploring. I would like to be in an environment like the Venus project, But since that is a pipe dream, I’m gravitating to spiral island idea just with more modern convinces. I’m starting off buying the solar generator and motors for the boat. Once I have acquired that and the boat I want to start to build a barge like attachment so there will be room to grow the food and other amenities. This would make a nice community project. My plans are to always stay close to land for safety reasons. I don’t want risk our lives I want to enjoy this human experience. I have a plan on how to construct everything but I would like to have positive peopl