Off Grid Home Forums Technical Discussion Help needed for an environment project from engineers or people with experience

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

Hello,

I am a highschool student, doing an environment project for a science fair,

my plan was to make a 220/240 Volts water cooler work using a solar panel. Although, being new to this concept, I am not sure how many Volts solar panel I should use. And also, I was told that I’ll need a transformer to convert solar energy in to electrical energy and then using that to charge a battery and the BATTERY will make the 220/240 Volts water cooler work.

I’m still working on the theory part of the project but I’ll soon need to purchase the equipment needed and, honestly, I’m lost, lol..

So it’ll be GREAT if someone gives me an informative and elaborate response to my inquiries. Your co-operation will be much, much appreciated.

Regards,

Maryam J Syed

How much are you supposed to make or manufacture yourself? You can buy what you need off the shelf, solar panel, charge controller, battery, inverter and a few wires/cables…, if it isn’t going to be left alone for long, you could skip the charge controller, if you are planning on making some of the components, then that requires other things… please give us more details and you might get some more pertinent answers. :)

Wretha

gordo
    Participant