MEDIA WORKERS AND TV RESEARCHERS - Please seek permission before posting on this site or approaching individuals found here by phone or email - write to the Editor - mail to nick@off-grid.net

Home Forums General Discussion Designing Tools for Post-Oil Survival.

This topic contains 10 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  elnav 5 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author

Jack Hamon
    Participant

Hello Off-Gridders,

My name is Jack Hamon, I am a Product Design student at Nottingham Trent University here in the UK.

My final year design project is designing ‘Tools for Post Oil Survival’, where I have outlined a scenario that next Easter Sunday the world runs out of oil, forcing us to live off the land again.

My goal is to design objects that will address both physical and emotional needs in a family coming to terms with a post-oil apocalypse.

I have three key questions for those living off-grid:

1: How do families keep a steady, consistent environment for young children?

2: What are the biggest problems you find living off-grid?

3: what are the parts of living off-grid that you cherish? which parts bring you the most joy?

You feedback would be really valuable!

Cheers,

Jack

elnav

Jack your questions seem to be more of a sociological nature than something associated with tool design. Your thesis on post oil tool use and design is quite interesting. In fact I got involved in a similar discussxion before it got derailed by some nincompoops intent on making fun of the subject.

There is a website called lowtechmagazine.com that carry articles on technology from yesteryear. Seems to me this would serve as a useful springboard for anyone wanting to adapt and further development of such pre-oil technology. With our increased understanding of materials including ceramics and wood we should be able to improve on a great many old devices.