MEDIA WORKERS AND TV RESEARCHERS - Please seek permission before posting on this site or approaching individuals found here by phone or email - write to the Editor - mail to nick@off-grid.net

Home Forums General Discussion The Drain Brain

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Angela 9 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

Nick Rosen
    Keymaster

We have a new service on Off-Grid. The Drain Brain is intended to be a witty, practical guide to off-grid water management. And also help us build a community of water experts who can helpe ach other and off-grid newbies.

The first question that came in is combination of very technical and very simple:

Hello, I am a architecture grad student at the University of Florida and for my thesis I am designing an economical, sustainable house designed specifically for Northeast Florida. I am very interested in off-grid water management strategies for my project. I have been running some preliminary numbers for water collection to see if it will be feasible for my project. I found that I can collect about 50-60,000 gallons of water per year (maximum). I was surprised to find how cheap water is from the grid. Still, I think the additional plumbing costs and the cost of a 1700-gallon cistern could be paid off within 5 years. My question is: Is 50,000-60,000 gallons enough rainfall for a typical household and if not, what strategies could I use to improve my efficiency so I can remain off-grid? Additionally, I haven’t even considered wastewater treatment on site – is this a possibility? Look forward to hearing your input. Thanks,

Angela
    Participant