Off Grid Home Forums Technical Discussion Power Systems beyond generator…

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    elnav

Dingo3x

what do you want to know?

I design such systems for a living.

How much power are you generating?

What voltage and current is your system.

How do you plan to store the power you generate?

This forum has limited capacity for extensive replies but I can provide some quickie answers right here.

dingo
    Participant

i’m looking more for a basic tutorial, nothing against your trade, but i’m more a do-it-yourselfer… i’m looking more towards information about what kind of components go into the electrical system and the ways the sub-systems interact.

dingo
    Participant

Can anyone point me towards information about building the actual grid system for your home system. meaning, i want to know what to do with the power coming off of my generator. i’ve been experimenting with a stream behind my house, and now that i’m ACTUALLY getting power from it now, i need to be able to distribute and maybe charge a backup battery… any help would be appereciated.

elnav

I realized you are a DIYer but the questions I asked are so basic that if you do not know the answer then you should not be attempting the project. If you do not know the voltage or current coming out of the generator how will you know what to do with it? If it’s AC you can’t just connect a battery or you will damage it and even if it is DC but too high a voltage then you will still damage the battery. If it is too low nothing will happen and you will become frustrated wondering what didn’t work.