MEDIA WORKERS AND TV RESEARCHERS - Please seek permission before posting on this site or approaching individuals found here by phone or email - write to the Editor - mail to nick@off-grid.net

Home Forums General Discussion Our age factor ~ important consideration

This topic contains 3 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  sixgun911 6 years, 6 months ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

Grandpa
    Participant

Hello all, am a newbie here, and enjoyed reading some of the post.

Just wanted to say that “Age” is a very important factor to living out in the sticks too.

My wife and I are in our 60’s, and finding it more and more difficult to get things done around the property here each year..

so as a resolve to our situation, we are looking for a younger couple to “help” with our chores, [especially firewood and gardening],in exchange for a small cabin that we have on our homestead, [viva caretaker sites searches.]

We love the lifestyle of living out in the mountains with mother nature, the peace and quiet of the slow~lane..

But when the “years” start creeping into the ole’ bones… everything slows down..and even keeping up the “maintenance” of the Good Life becomes an increasing work load..

But all said and done…We’ve experienced about every kind of hardship associated with living out in the sticks over past years, and in my opinion, the primary key to what is called “Survival” is simply learning to live in harmony with mother nature, preparations for the elements of the seasons.. etc.. [unfortunately…”Age” can’t be overcome a great deal with fore planning..:-}

God bless and warm holidays to all! fathersplace29@yahoo.com

sixgun911

Great post, runs together with my healthcare posts. I think even with age its possible to live off grid. just reducing the amount of exertion one has to do to stay off grid makes it possible. Also its a great idea for the caretaker person living on site.

Dustoffer
    Participant