MEDIA WORKERS AND TV RESEARCHERS - Please seek permission before posting on this site or approaching individuals found here by phone or email - write to the Editor - mail to

Home Forums General Discussion Old blow hards UK

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  robint 9 months, 3 weeks ago.

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author

Hi all budding of gridders. Let me start by stating that I have been supporting this movement for many years in my own way, right from the publication of “Limits to Growth” in the 70s warning 50 years ago how we are on a gloabl collision course to destroying our environment. OK there’s my bona fides.

Now I want to issue a caveat to all budding off gridders – beware of false prophets.  I am a retired professional engineer and I am constantly appalled at the specious rubbish spouted by puffed up old bubbas trying to sound knowledgeable and avuncular.  This is especially dangerous when encouraging technically un tutored newbies to dabble weith electrics and solar power systems. These are potentially lethal especially in the open air environment. For those interested, there are special whole sections in the IEE regs devoted to safety on caravan sites, farm buildings and swimming pools. Did you know you can get a shock off a 12 V battery? It takes less than 8Vdc to electrocute a human swimmer at sea. I could go on for pages on this but will be happy to help on such matters.