MEDIA WORKERS AND TV RESEARCHERS - Please seek permission before posting on this site or approaching individuals found here by phone or email - write to the Editor - mail to nick@off-grid.net

Home Forums General Discussion info on best places to live for free

This topic contains 9 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  elnav 5 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

Anonymous

Hi everyone,

let me start by telling you all a little bit about myself, Im 44 white male, married,(not a good situation) anyway, im a master carpenter, and generally handy in most anything else, if i dont know things i can usually figure it out over time. i just quit smoking after 30 years of two packs a day, yeah pretty proud of that. finances are in the crapper, im a business owner of a very small ( im the only employee) remodeling company. that is going under fast due to lack of work coming in. ive actually been trading work for rent. for the last year. doing small stuff to live on. So heres my deal, I am ready for change. i have read a lot on off grid living, and ive read a lot of your post. Desert Deb, Elnav, and a few other regulars here, and i see how much you people love it.

i am so ready for this. but i want to live completely free, pay only in the hard work that takes to live free. now obviously i know i ant live 100% free, but as close to it as i can.

i have looked at Slab city in Cali, and i dont know if this is the place for me. right now im in Michigan, but Slab city just seemed a little shaky to me.

do any of you know of any other communities that i can go to, and do what i want to do, i plan to live in a tent. or if possible where i go build a small shed type building to live in. grow my own food. and if i am in a community possibly trade my skills in anyway that i can to help me survive.