MEDIA WORKERS AND TV RESEARCHERS - Please seek permission before posting on this site or approaching individuals found here by phone or email - write to the Editor - mail to nick@off-grid.net

Home Forums General Discussion Help! Wanting to go green on a budget

This topic contains 7 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  elnav 5 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

kgreen501
    Participant

Well,

I’m a graduate college student who is tired of paying high rent. I thought about buying a trailer and moving out to the country, but I don’t really know if I can afford to live off the grid. The only systems I’ve seen are very expensive, about 20-30K. Generating my own electricity is something I’ve always been interested in, though, but it would have to be practical. Are there any off-grid methods I might want to consider, other than simply going without electricity?

Are there any bio-diesel powered generators, solar power systems, wind power systems, bike powered systems, etc. that are affordable and could help me start living comfortably off the grid?

elnav

First of all where you live is significant in so many ways. I live in an area that is totally powered by hydro-electric energy so going green is already way ahead of someplace powered by coal fired generators. /when I have work its from home so no commuting costs. We drive into town once a month for supplies so fuel expenditure of 3 gallons is not a huge carbon footprint.

I got a kill-a-watt meter to measure my eletricity consumption. This helped me figure out what devices used the least amount of energy. It was not a surprise to learn counter top appliances often use half as much power to cook the same amount of food as the traditional stove/oven. A friend who lives 100% solar paid attention and is now making careful use of some appliances which his solar panels can support.

Going without electricity is not necessary. Energy conservation is.