MEDIA WORKERS AND TV RESEARCHERS - Please seek permission before posting on this site or approaching individuals found here by phone or email - write to the Editor - mail to nick@off-grid.net

Home Forums Technical Discussion Help needed with 'Yes Bus' conversion project!

This topic contains 2 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Senorcoconut 1 year ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

Barnsy
    Participant

Hello off-grid network and thank you for taking the time to read this post :)

My friend and I are about to embark on a big social project to convert a double decker bus, into a co-working/play, mobile adventure community space. It is being designed for a group of life’s doers and go get’ers called the Yes Tribe! Please feel free to look up, or better still join, at sayyesmore.com

So it begins…

I work as an engineer/fitter by trade and so have a fair amount of experience in tackling most things hands on and practical. The one area of knowledge that I am most definitely lacking in though is the tech side of how to power this thing! I have begun research into the subject and most of what i am learning now seems to be angled at camper van or mobile home living. I imagine the principles will be similar but the power usage of our project will most probably be bigger and less consistent.

Our intention is to park the bus on a plot of land for most of the time, to allow access for the tribe to come out to work, play or simply gather and hatch life plans in beautiful natural surroundings. It will also travel to events, festivals etc where power may be available but ideally we would like this to be an off grid set-up to really harness the freedom of it being on wheels!

So the big question is this, how do we do it?!