MEDIA WORKERS AND TV RESEARCHERS - Please seek permission before posting on this site or approaching individuals found here by phone or email - write to the Editor - mail to nick@off-grid.net

Home Forums General Discussion getting started

Tagged: ,

This topic contains 13 replies, has 12 voices, and was last updated by  wilderbill 9 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author

rrsisu

I am 39 years old. I am an attorney. I am looking to leave this lifestyle and become self-sufficient somewhere remote. I am tired of the people around me and tired of the rat race. Unfortunately I do not have much for assets so will need to save and have a location in mind that I can aim for. any help or suggestions out there? Thanks

Nick Rosen
    Keymaster

rrsisu has launched a really interesting discussion here – he’s saying in effect, I want to get out, but I need some financial security to make the leap. I totally understand where he is coming from, but I’d remind him of a couple of things. First off, you really need remarkably little dough when you are living off grid. $1000 a month is plenty. Since he is an attorney, I venture to suggest he could try to make that much running a legal advice service online. But he could also pick herbs in the forest and sell them in the local farmers makret.

That still leaves open the question of where to get his grubstake, but again the answer may be that for a few thousand dollars he could have a cabin in a wood and a solar panel and a woodburning stove, and what else do you need? Exactly where would he do that? Suggestions please.

Anonymous