MEDIA WORKERS AND TV RESEARCHERS - Please seek permission before posting on this site or approaching individuals found here by phone or email - write to the Editor - mail to nick@off-grid.net

Home Forums General Discussion East side of Strathcona Park off gridders

This topic contains 7 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  cedarcreek 7 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

cedarcreek
    Participant

Hi All,

I have 56 acres on the east side of Stracona Park. I’m new to the idea of being off grid and having this property gives me no choice but to be off the grid. Anyone on here near the park?

elnav

Thats a lot of territory . Can you be a bit more specific? Closest to what community.

cedarcreek
    Participant

I’m about 30 minutes west of Campbell River on hiway 28.

elnav

Cedarcreek do you have any power lines out ther or are you compelled to run a generator all the time. If so I can help you devise a more fuel efficient system. You can send me a direct email to 2elnav (at) netbistro.com

Elnav

elnav

Looking at Googlemap and GoogleEarth ther seems to be potential for microhydro power on west side of Campbell lake but not so much on east side. you are pretty much in the wind shadow of the higher mountains in Strathcona park.

Any chance of getting power from adiabatic winds falling off the higher mountains?

cedarcreek
    Participant

Hi Elnav,