MEDIA WORKERS AND TV RESEARCHERS - Please seek permission before posting on this site or approaching individuals found here by phone or email - write to the Editor - mail to nick@off-grid.net

Home Forums General Discussion Couple of questions from a newbie…

This topic contains 6 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  billmccallum 1 year ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

floyd
    Participant

Hi Folks,

Im Dean, a newbie here :) I am in my mid 30s, single and have been considering leaving the ratrace and going off grid or semi-off grid. My body is aching due to sitting at a computer all day for 15 years and I feel I must make a change.

I am looking at selling my house and buying some land with a cottage and giving off grid living a go but i have 2 major concerns…

1. Will it be too lonley? Dont get me wrong I love my own company and happy to be by myself but living without neighbours and the daily contact of people might be a bit depressing? How do you guys deal with this?

2. The weather. I live in N.Ireland. Yes its a beautiful place and I love it here but its cold! and wet all year round. I really think off grid living would be better suited to a warm climate. Whats your thoughts on this?

Thanks for reading, look forward to chatting with you all.

Dean

steverobertson
    Participant

You know yourself better than anyone.  Would you be too lonely?  If you’re happy with yourself, you’ll be happier and you’ll definitely get into shape over a few months and feel like a new man.  I know because I used to be an engineer sitting behind a desk all the time.  My first three months here I couldn’t work any more than just 2-3 hours and would be so tired I would have to quit.  But after some time, my weight is good, I’m fit, can go all day, and I’m in my best shape at 54 than I’ve ever been my adult life.