Scruffy | |

I am thinking about taking on help to build a nice place to live. No longer working myself to death and I am getting to slow to finish everything I wish to get done here at Dirtwater. Living off my assets till benefits come and its use them or lose them. The climate here is good for off grid, it never stays below freezing long and summers are only above 100*F for a couple months per year. The wooded land I call Dirtwater is a thousand feet off of a back road and has some utilities. The hope is to build a simi-offgrid situation and become as self reliant as possible. I do like some comforts and toys, I don’t plan to become like a mountain man. Purists may be welcome but judgments will not be. Its all about working together to build something good, safe and comfortable with as little of the rat race as possible. If all goes well, the plan is to build a small stationary sawmill, blacksmith/fab shop and tiny portable homes. As a disabled veteran, I would seriously consider veterans. Young or old, vet or not, male or female, it doesn’t matter. I will respond and if we click, maybe I will bring you in. No free rides here, guests here will have to help me hold down the fort. If your a city dweller and want to live nearer the dirt, this may be the spot for you. Its in the sticks but not far from cities in a fairly well populated rural area. Very good school system here if that matters.

Buy our book - OFF THE GRID - a tour of American off-grid places and people written by Nick Rosen, editor of the off-grid.net web site

5 Responses to “Dirtwater needs help on off grid projects.”

  1. Dan

    Hi I’m a 24 year old male that just loves the idea of living off the grid. I live the outdoors and working hard. I don’t have an amazing array of skills but I am willing to learn and help out in any way I can. I’ve had manual labor jobs and was in the military. I would love to talk to you about joining your community and helping out with projects.
    Thanks, Dan

    Reply
  2. Michael

    I am not yet old enough to join you, but I would like to know more about your location and the kind of people you would like on your property. I get along with anyone, and I am very intellectually based, and would be willing to learn. I prefer working with large gardens and tin-smithing. I would prefer to start a medium scale settlement of about 7-12 people, to be generally self sufficent. Please get back to me as I would love to help you when am able. michaeldalehazen@gmail.com

    Reply
  3. Andrew

    Hi!
    I’m interested in living off grid and don’t have the land, supplies, etc. I have done it in the past when I was a kid. I lived outdoors for about 2 years in 1985 and 1986 in the redwoods of Northern California. Yeah I’m almost 50 but I’m in seriously good physical condition. I work out hard every day and run about 12 to 15 miles a week. I can transfer all that energy into some serious hard, outdoor work. I love the outdoors and do a lot of hunting and fishing. I’m a cool guy, super easy to get along with, I believe in honor and living life with a moral compass that points true north. Where are you located? I hope to hear from you soon. Peace!

    Reply
  4. Taylore

    Hello my name is taylore and I would like to know more about what you are offering here. I’m new to this whole thing but all my life I’ve wanted to live off grid. I don’t have many skills for off grid living but I want to learn. If you are willing to teach me I will pull my own weight and I’m not afraid to get dirty. I’m a 22 year old female but I was raised to be open to all things and to work hard. I hope to hear back from you.

    Reply
  5. ian

    hello, i am very interested in your project ideas , i am 41 my daughter 8. we both are sick of the city life , i am a certified welder,master carpenter,locksmith, and much more, solar and wind energy patent holder. could we come visit ?
    thgank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply