News and Media postings - Seeking case studies? Please, before you post, write to news@off-grid.net for authorisation.

Home Forums General Discussion Where to start?

This topic contains 8 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by  New Dawn Project 1 year, 1 month ago.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

boogyonouttahere
    Participant

I’m 18 years old and have practically 0 experience with living off the grid or being self sufficient, but its all I think about, day in and day out. For a long time I’ve thought about running away, ideally to the wild where I can try and manage for myself. I have no future in society, I have no work experience (mostly because I hate the idea of the people I might work for and the culture I contribute too), I did well in school up until this year, I have no progress towards my driving license, and I have nothing to look forward to except for a free life in nature.

Now that I’ve explained a bit about myself, I’d like to get any help or opinions what I can do or on how I can prepare for a long term escape, by foot, in northern Ontario. I also plan on bringing along a collection of books that will help me with building some things and identifying plants, so if there’s any must have books, please share!

beast
    Participant

you need to learn before you go, one wrong wildgreen and youre dead
    eat one wrong mushroom and youre dead
    how do you plan to build a shelter and out of what?
    do you know how to fell atree without dropping it on yourself?
    do you know which types of trees are best suited to cabin building?
    do you know how to build a foundation to set your cabin on so the logs dont rot away on you in 2 years?
    what materials would you use for roofing and how will you attach them?
    these are just a very few of the things you need to consider and know something about, before you wander off!