Off Grid Home Forums Technical Discussion FRENCH SHORT DOCUMENTARY ON OFF THE GRID LIF

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Nick Rosen
    Keymaster

Hey guys,

I am a French TV journalist working for a social/societal program (L’Effet Papillon meaning The Butterfly Effect in French, we tend to focus on how a group actions can impact or inspire a bigger community or a society).
    For the purpose of a 15 to 20 minutes feature about people living off the grid – as some people and media says in this country  –  I am looking for an individual, a couple, a family with children or several members of a community that we could meet and stay with for a few days anywhere in the States.

The reason why I am interested in this project is because France, like many other countries is now reaching a point where some people are/need to reinvente their way of living, out of a mould, away from certains rules we choose to follow before.
    We have a growing community of people living in self-sufficent communities in France but not so many folks trying to live off the grid on their own, into the wild. Our idea, sponsored by my editors, was to give a inside view of what it can be – thanks to a few stories of folks in the US –  to really step aside from the (sub)urban society and live off the power grid, without connection to direct water, away from electric hardwares, from school and office work too maybe.
    Most of all what we are hoping for is to talk and interview the people (you !) that are embracing a different way of life : when did you decide to do so? why (for religious, environemental, economical, education purposes) ? Maybe there’s no particular reasons too.  What was the challenge then when you decide to leave the other life behind, if you did and what are the challenges of your everyday life now? What did you or still do learn from it? What are you hoping or looking for if you are? What is your vision of our society today? and of tomorrow’s world obviously…